In Glympse version 3.24.0, users are given the option to set Location Services to “While Using the App” or “Always”.
If “While Using the App” is selected and Glympse is in the background and you are not actively sharing, the iOS notification bar will appear across the top of the screen with a message stating “Glympse is Using Your Location”.
After a few seconds, this notification will disappear and the Location Services icon will disappear. If you are actively sharing and you place Glympse in the background, the notification “Glympse is using Your Location” will flash. Tapping this notification will open Glympse.